Visitor Reviews

Visit Date: 11/20/2011
Review Date: 12/21/2011
Great reunion with Eleuthera. We visited Eleuthera in 1988, and had brought our children who were 4 years and 7 years old back then. We had always favored Eleuthera over all the other places we had vacationed. We wanted to bring our children as adults ( with their spouses) to experience the same. Our experience surpassed our earlier visit. The houses had all of the amenities. The beach was beautiful and very private. The snorkeling was fantastic, with all of the various reefs close by. When it was too breezy on the Atlantic side, we zipped over to the Caribbean coast. We had fresh fish for dinner several nights. The SUV was a great, which enabled us to shop and sightsee at nearby two towns, where we could buy our supplies, fresh fruits and vegetables. The Governor's Harbour Fish Fry was very Bahamian, but you may want to stay clear of the "rum ba bas". We even visited the local deli. Tippy's was great, good food and near the ocean. Barbara, throughout the entire process has been very attentive and considerate. I have never met her, but would love to meet her in person!
Submitted by Mary from Unspecified
Visit Date: 3/12/2011
Review Date: 3/25/2011
Wish we were still there !! Thanks.
Submitted by Loraine from New York
Visit Date: 3/5/2011
Review Date: 3/15/2011
Best of the Bahamas!! We had to come to love Eleuthera and we have enjoyed great success with HomeAway and VRBO. Everything came together this time as well to make what was really the perfect trip!!! Barbara is the best owner we have ever dealt with! The best! Great, gracious and helpful person! The property is the best of the Bahamas in my opinion. The Atlantic side of the Island offers a beautiful breeze most of the time. The beach, the water, the view are stunning a private . The property is beautiful,clean very well maintained, inside and out. Private decks everywhere- some obviously built strategically for sunrises or sunsets for example - all with the view ! Privacy and comfort for cozying up or reading a book on the beach, in the hammocks, on the decks! Great kitchen facilities to eat at home and save some money. Trails and back roads for walking, hiking or biking for those who need an adventure. Twenty more isolated pristine beaches within a short drive of the house to give you a little variety. Del the caretaker - wonderful guy - knows the Island and offers helpful insight like where to buy the catch of the day off the back of a native's boat! As I said we loved Eleuthera and now we found Monticello the love affair is complete! We are home! Thanks very much Barbara for a spectacular vacation from our clan!
Submitted by William from Maine
Visit Date: 1/24/2011
Review Date: 3/15/2011
We enjoyed our stay at Desert Rose. The location is wonderful close to Governor's Harbour and restaurants but we felt that we were on a secluded beach. The beach goes forever and is spectacular. The home is comfortable and well maintained. The three decks gave us great views of the ocean and the gardens. The owners and the caretaker were extremely helpful ad concerned that we had an enjoyable time. We will return to the Desert Rose on our next trip to Eleuthera.
Submitted by Carole from Sun Valley, ID
Visit Date: 2/18/2011
Review Date: 2/28/2011
We had a wonderful week enjoying the roaring surf, secluded beach and gorgeous views... from many, many decks. What a treat to be able to walk an entire beach alone. The house itself is great too. Cozy, comfortable and spectacular views from the many windows. Perfect hideaway for two. The caretaker and the taxi driver were charming and very helpful. We will be going back to Desert Roses!
Submitted by Brenda from Oakville,Ontario Canada
Visit Date: 1/7/2011
Review Date: 1/20/2011
We stayed one week on the property and everybody enjoyed it! Both the owner and the housekeeper are very accomodating and responsive. The house is very well equipped and offers a lot of 'accessory' amenities like beach chairs, beach toys, snorkeling gear etc. The gas BBQ was great also to grill fish, and the outside property is amazing. It seems you would like to stay everywhere at the same time (1 welcoming hammock under a patio - a shaded deck at the back of the round house). A charming small path reaches the beach which is very appropriate for kids because the water is not too deep at that point. The place is so quiet ! I would definitely recommend it! We will surely be back!
Submitted by Iacconi from Virginia, USA
Visit Date: 12/31/2010
Review Date: 1/19/2011
The photos do not show as beautiful if this place! The house, the property and the owners are great! It's the house that a lot of people would like to have on a seaside like that.
Submitted by Farruggio Koelliker from Turin, Italy